LIGHT GIRLS

Gue-Pelou – Tall Mask. – Mediate between the world of the living and the spiritual world – Chapter Fifteen

We have reached the last Chapter of, “To Damce with Ugly People,” – Chapter Fifteen. Dani Marie Dobson Ransom has had to wear a Tall Mask of hope and despair all of her life and in Chapter Fifteen who will hold her hand as she makes her decisions. Will you?

Throughout the book, there are things that happens to Dani and influences her insecurities because of the negative experiences with the color of her skin. On this day. January 19, 2015, Martin Luther King Day, we celebrate. If he had lived he would probably have to reiterate his statement “I look to a day when people will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character,” – to his own people! Why?

The reason why: This “keeps coming up” because we do not properly discuss it. People still can’t talk about it without tears in their eyes, so it’s STILL worth analyzing. Colorism isn’t the biggest problem among African Americans and Society but it IS a problem.
On this MLK Day, January 19, 2015, Oprah’s OWN NETWORK will air the Documentary, ‘Light Girls’ which dives deep into the discussion of skin color, preference, privilege, pain and prejudice. To be fair the Documentary ‘Dark Girls’ aired Sunday, June 23, 2013 on Oprah’s OWN NETWORK.
I’ve read that colorism is in most countries, yet basically in America it began with slavery. Throughout the numerous years the lightest-skinned peoples had the highest social status, for instance working inside the Master’s house in lieu of picking cotton in the fields.

I grew up not feeling black enough. I felt I had to constantly prove my “blackness” to people, in order to get along. I wore dark pancake makeup on my face, not knowing I also needed to spread it to my pale neck. – I looked like a clown. I tried to die my hair darker – It fell out. I grew tired of doing it. I experienced more “in your face” prejudice from my own than from white people. “Oh you bougie red bone” “Oh you think you better because you are light skinned” comments without them even knowing me.

It’s the acknowledgement of our diversity within the Black race that is important to me. We are a rainbow. A beautiful variety of all kinds of shades of color. I love it! But, I was raised to be aware of a person liking me or picking me for anything because of my “skin tone.” My Step Mother remained bitterly entrenched,” Don’t think you’re better because you have light skin and long hair!”

Share a “Light Girls,” experiences in, “To Dance with Ugly People.” Pick up a copy! What did you experience? Write me at: lorenehill63@gmail.com I’d love to hear from you.

Lorene Stunson Hill –

http://www.lockpublishing.com/lorene.html

Leave a Reply

