HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

To celebrate the upcoming Valentine’s Day, signed copies of, “To Dance with Ugly People,” are available at http://www.lockpublishing.com/lorene.html

I am sending blessings to all of my fans for love, peace and happiness! Enjoy the following excerpts from, “To Dance with Ugly People,” and let the love begin.
To Whom It May Concern:

I was seeing a deeper side of Chance. He put his cup down, leaned forward and folded his hands in front of him,
“And your story?”
“Divorced nine months. It’s a long story.”
He reached across the table and squeezed my hand. Warmth traveled up to my heart.
“I have enjoyed you tonight, young lady.” He said.
The look in his eyes was tender.
“I want to see you again.” He continued.
“I’d like that.”
“I want you to know I’m thirty nine.”
“Sound like you think that’s old.”
I started doing the math, fourteen years older than I was. The same difference as Daddy and
Mama, Daddy and Tina.
“Does that bother you?”
“No, of course not.”
“You’re a special woman.”
“Thank you.”
“You’ve caused me to spend a lot of time thinking about you, Dani. Perhaps I was afraid of you. Where were you when I was nineteen and looking for a wife?”
I thought for a minute and answered,
“In kindergarten.”

He let out aloud, chest heaving laugh. His laughter had not subsided when we stood up to go, hugging me, I lay my head on his chest. I loved the sound of him, his mouth still open with laughter, his heart pounding furiously. I kissed him gently on the cheek and the laughter validated to an end. He enclosed me into a big bear hug.
To Whom It May Concern:

When we drove into the parking lot of the restaurant my mouth dropped open, my eyes were big as saucers. I exhaled softly and a gentle “Ooooooo” escaping my lips. It was the most elegant place I’d ever seen. There were gorgeous stained glass windows, picturesque gardens, and water fountains. I stared in disbelief. Chance was watching my face, smiling.
“You want to sit here in the car until your eyes pop out, or go in?”
I slapped his arm and he grabbed it pretending I had hurt him. He walked around the car and opened my door. I stepped out of his vehicle feeling like Cinderella exiting her carriage.
“Am I dressed properly for this place?”
I asked smoothing the skirt of my shimmering navy blue full-length maxi dress, with a halter neck.
“You are breathtaking!” He answered, putting his arm around my shoulders pulling me to him.
He was wearing a dark gray three-piece business suit. He was so handsome.

Once we had our seats at our table, I felt like royalty. I hadn’t ever experienced anything like it in my entire life. I hadn’t ever seen so much silverware and so many dishes and glasses in a single table setting. We were having a five-course meal. I hadn’t ever heard of a five-course meal. I hadn’t experienced any of the foods served, either.

The first serving was soup – Butternut squash with scallops – hot and delicious.
The second serving was the appetizer – Tiny crab cakes – delicious and spicy.
The third serving was salad – Goat cheese and beets sprinkled on it – with the best house dressing in the world.
The fourth serving was the main course – Grilled filet of beef with mushrooms, potatoes and asparagus.
The fifth serving was desert – Vanilla ice cream with berries and chocolate syrup.

I thought I would explode. I was living a dream. Chance had ordered champagne, which, of course, I hadn’t ever tasted. I loved it. The sensual explosion in my mouth was heaven. I loved the taste, the fizz and tingling bubbles that seemed to fill my mouth and glide all the way down my throat. I had a heavenly experience.

Leave a Reply

